Thailand extends 2019 visa-on-arrival fee waiver

Covering the peak travel season, the measure means visitors from 20 countries will continue to enjoy a waiver until April 30 2019.

Citizens of 20 countries will continue to enjoy the visa-on-arrival fee waiver until April 30 2019, the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) announced.

The stimulus measure will help to attract foreign tourists during the kingdom’s peak travel season. The visa-on-arrival fee extension period covers notable events including Chinese New Year in February and the hugely popular Thai New Year (Songkran) in April.

Visa approval Thailand fee waiver extended

The visa-on-arrival fee waiver covers visitors from 20 countries

Included in the waiver is Thailand’s number one source market, China. In 2018, visitor numbers from China surpassed the milestone of 10 million tourists, generating an estimated 509 billion Baht in revenue ($16 billion). Chinese tourist arrivals to Sri Lanka in 2018 reached 266,000.

2019 marks the 15th anniversary of cooperation between TAT, the Chinese Embassy, and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of the People’s Republic of China in promoting the Chinese New Year celebrations in Thailand. Over 100 traditional Chinese artists including dancers, martial artists, and acrobats will hold performances in key cities. In return, TAT will organise educational tours of Thailand for the visiting performers.

The visa-on-arrival fee waiver means foreign visitors from the selected countries will not be required to pay the 2,000 Baht ($63) visa-on-arrival fee to tour Thailand up to 15 days.

Hospitality Insider Issue 4